jump to navigation

Distributed storage August 8, 2008

Posted by davidit in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I was reading the following post from Wesley Fryers blog recently.  The blog was about mini computers and as I am trialling the eeepc 900 at the moment it was interesting to see a range of other products that are out there that are not currently available in New Zealand.  If they are I have not seen them.   Wesley also mentioned a free remote storage and back up service offered by Mozy.

The remote storage aspect of his post in particular  caught my eye.  I have mentioned in a recent post about oodesk that distributed storage, on-line programmes and even OS in the case of oodesk will increasingly become the norm.

Mozy offers 2GB of free encrypted storage for non-commercial users and offers unlimited storage for $4.95US per month.  What is involved is a test of your Internet connection speed and the install of a little program that enables you to select and upload your chosen files to the remote storage server.  It appears that initial upload of your files is done whilst your computer is idle so this is an ideal task to be done overnight.  I have already started to upload my precious graphics files and photos, having said that my initial selection put me something like 1000% over my current allocation of space, so perhaps I had better purchase some more space!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment