jump to navigation

Sketchup/Google Earth July 14, 2008

Posted by davidit in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

This is a view in Google Earth of my home and Mount Wellington in the background.  I built the model in Sketchup, a really easy process.  I worked off of the plans that I have, however a measuring tape would have done just as well!  Once the model was completed I opened up Google Earth and found my home’s location then imported that location into Sketchup, toggled the terrain to ‘on’ and then oriented the model onto the terrain.  Now whenever I open Google Earth my 3-D model will be there, better still I have now shared this model by uploading it to the Google Earth 3-D warehouse for anyone to download if they so desire.  Even better than that is the fact that after scrutiny, the model, if successful will become part of Google Earth’s 3-D buildings layer and will be visible to all who use Google Earth.  You can locate  the model in the 3-D warehouse by using the search term ‘Glendowie House.”

As I said in an earlier post, this whole process would be a good project for schools to take on.  By breaking down their school into individual buildings, groups of students could be responsible for measuring and building to scale in Sketchup their school buildings.  Once completed they could then be compiled into a collection of buildings on their own Google Earth programme, or indeed share for others to view and fly around in 3-D using Google Earth.

Anyone interested in joining the project?  A great measurement exercise for a long term maths project…  I will be getting students on the Supertanker to embark on this process in the coming weeks and months, I just need a donor class to pick up this particular baton…  If you do build a model of your school and share it in Google Earth, please let me know so that I can share this information with others.

Comments»

1. Stuart Meldrum - December 2, 2008

Hi,

I am about to start doing exactly what you mention with my S1 pupils (10/11 years old). I’m in the middle of sorting out how to collaborate with another school in Scotland. I’ll try to come back and let you know how we get on

2. davidit - December 2, 2008

Stuart,

You might be interested in the initiative that I have been running for two years with students in Plymouth. We have had year 4 students collaborating via our blog http://tohatoha.blogspot.com

3. Stuart Meldrum - December 4, 2008

Thanks David, that look interesting, I like the ‘Where in the world’ videos.

I’m sure we could find some sort of project to collaborate on.


Leave a Reply

