jump to navigation

Feedback from an unexpected source April 14, 2008

Posted by davidit in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I have just received an e-mail from my You Tube account saying that a new comment has been posted on my Excel tutorial video. As one of the facilitators in our cluster I am creating how to videos for the staff to use as either PD for themselves or for use in their classes to support student learning. As a consequence I find it quite hard to pitch these lessons; I am never sure just how basic to make the lessons. What I end up doing is making a couple of introductory videos then wait for feed back and from that I intend to make videos based on identified need. The latest comment is very gratifying indeed!

Although I know that the videos are public, I consider the content as targeted at my cluster audience and do not really expect the rest of the planet to pay any attention. Well my introductory lesson for Excel has just landed someone, who I have no idea who they are, a job! How cool is that? It just goes to show that the teachable moment can be anyone’s, if you make your resources public! You can see my complete list of tutorials, including an introduction to Open Office at my you tube channel. If any of you want me to make instructional videos, please let me know, I am happy to oblige.

Comments»

1. Simon - April 14, 2008

Well done to you. Global audience MEANS Global audience but we don’tr reeally think of it as such until this sort of stuff happens.

2. davidit - April 14, 2008

Thanks Simon. Still it is strange to have this global audience. We create for a perceived and known audience and yet we know that there are watchers out there who we only know about through our clustr maps. Still it is very gratifying to know that others are making good use of these resources and finding them useful!

3. Amanda - April 16, 2008

Wow, this is so cool! This post made me have a big smile to the fact you have made someones day in such a massive way. I love their comment! 🙂

4. davidit - April 17, 2008

Amanda, I have to say that I had a grin on my face from ear to ear when I read it! Made my day!


Leave a Reply

