jump to navigation

The Ultimate Bandwidth Killer? December 5, 2007

Posted by davidit in Education, Education 2.0, ICT Integration, ICT PD cluster, mogulus, Web 2.0.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

livefeed.gif

I think that I have found the ultimate bandwidth killer!  This little utility from Mogulus is yet another brilliant tool and is yet another reason why I will need a fibre cable as thick as my arm to feed my school pretty soon! 

What this cool utility allows you to do is to create your own web based TV station.  What is more it is live.  The image that you see above is my live stream embedded into my blog that I use to test things on.  As you can see my station has its own name – Madfish which is now part of the Madfish Broadcasting Corporation!  I have a ticker and all sorts of other goodies that I add or remove.  The terminal that I log into enables me to cut between live feeds and pre-prepared video footage, just like the editor up in the gallery would do in a real TV station.  It is really cool, I can see huge potential for this in education, I now need some willing classroom to take it on…

I have been looking for this kind of utility for ages, I have investigated VLC media player and while that is good and can handle a live feed within my network, what I have wanted to achieve is a live feed to the Internet.  It is my aim to set up bird feed stations in our gully so that we can share our wonderful natural resource with others from all over the world.  This cool utility will enable us to do that, we will be able to have several feed stations all linked into the one portal and our students will be able to cue between cameras to give our on-line audience the best images of the Tuis, fungi or whatever we are observing at the time.  I can see a future where students will be able to do scientific observations, statistical work etc through this portal and we can share the flora and fauna that our students are lucky enough to have within their school grounds.

Any takers for the stream?  Once I have set up a proper school TV station I will post the details here.  The future of education is not moving towards us, it is galloping! It had better hurry up, I can’t wait any longer!

Comments»

1. Marnie - December 5, 2007

Ooh, I like the TV station idea. We will have to talk about how to integrate that into my class programme next year!

2. AllanahK - December 5, 2007

We are about to go on to the Loop at school- now that means that bandwidth is no longer a problem!

3. Rachel Boyd - December 6, 2007

Wow this sounds fantastic David!
I can totally see how this would fit perfectly into your school situation and be something truly worth sharing.
Definitely worth all the hours you’ve been thinking and planning no doubt :)

4. E Cross - December 6, 2007

We will have to integrate that into my next year’s class David! I hope i can get them up to speed quickly.
You have so many exciting and definitely manageable things lined up for Meadowbank – I hope more will come on board. :)
Edith

5. davidit - December 6, 2007

I have to say that this particular utility has set my brain alight. I can see so many educational possibilites with this one. I have spent a good number of hours so far ironing out the wrinkles and testing what it can do and to all intents and purposes it can act as a genuine TV studio. That alone has huge potential, but I like to bend the rules once I got my teeth into a program like this and am already investigation how I could use Mogulus as a remote teaching tool. Who needs to spend $12000+ on video conferencing equipment when Mogulus and a $50 web cam will do the trick for you, bandwidth dependent that is! What impresses me most is the synching of the live video and audio, at the moment there does not seem to be any delay. Great bit of code guys, thanks. Now I intend to play hard with this one

6. Helen Hardie - December 6, 2007

What an exciting find! A real plus to our joint work. Roll on next year!

7. Ulearn08 - Breakout 1 Mogulus « Turning the Supertanker - September 30, 2008

[...] be working, it is just that I know that Mogulus uses a lot of bandwidth; indeed I dubbed it the ultimate bandwidth killer when I first discovered it last year.   Therefore, to have 31 computers all accessing the same [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

